Category: INTRODUCTION Published: Thursday, 10 August 2017 Written by Super User

Centre for Quality Assurance (Pusat Penjaminan Kualiti, PPQ) was established on 1st October 2001, initiated by Vice Chancellor, Professor Dato’ Dr.Ir. Mohd Noor b Haji Salleh, with the approval from Board of Directors. The centre was under the supervision of Deputy Vice-Chancellor of Academic and Professor Dato’ Dr. Isahak Haron was appointed as the first director.


On 1 November 2003, Associate Prof. Mohd Taib Ariffin was appointed as the second PPQ to replace the first director whose contract expired on 31 October 2003. In line with international requirements, PPQ has taken steps to obtain certification of MS ISO 9001: 2000. The initial step was to organize workshop about MS ISO 9001:2000 to all academic staff. Due to health condition, Associate Prof. Mohd Taib Ariffin resigned and the post was succeeded by Associate Prof. Dr. Nagendralingan Ratnavadivel effective 1st July 2004.


In line with UPSI rebranding, PPQ has been upgraded to the Division of Academic Development and Quality (Bahagian Pembangunan Akademik & Kualiti ,BPAQ) under the supervision of the Deputy Vice Chancellor of Academic and International Affairs on 1st October 2008. Prof. Nagendralingan Ratnavadivel still remains as the director for a fourth term two deputy directors, namely Dr. Husni Ibrahim who led Teaching and Learning Unit (P & P) and Dr. Shakinaz Desa managed Quality and Policy Unit. In addition, the Teacher Training Unit was administered under Policy Unit known as Teaching Practicum and Industrial Training Unit under Dr. Ikhsan Othman.


To this date, BPAQ is run under a director, three coordinators, a senior assistant registrar, an assistant registrar, ICT officer, ICT assistant and four administrative assistants

Hits: 665

Contact Us

Centre For Academic Development

Level 3, Chancellory Building,
Universiti Pendidikan Sultan Idris,
35900 Tanjung Malim, Perak.
Contact: +60 5-4506457/ 6458 | Fax: +60 5-4594645